Methods

Crises Management

Complexity of crises

Complex means in this connection:

  • Interconnection: everything is connected and this in a different way and with different methods. This means that each intervention in the connected system not only has an impact on the variables which one would like to influence but also on others. These are the so called side effects, the reactions and the long-distance effect with regard to the realisation of measures.
  • Momentum: The system changes its condition even without an influence from outside (polymerisation). Therefore, one can not wait as long as wanted and reflect in a calm and reasoned manner. It is important not only to know about the present condition but also to realise and consider the tendencies of the development.
  • Lack of transparency: The conditions of a system can not be captured entirely therefore, one has to go back to the indicators. Especially this is problematic if the critical variables – which form the system – can not be detected.
  • Dead times, time delays: The effect of the measure can only be seen long time after the influence has taken place and often one doesn’t know how long afterwards. Buffer variables partly pretend a stable condition which by a sudden escalates if they collapse.
  • Irreversibility: The effect of a measure is irreversible.

zurück

Methoden

Krisenmanagement

Krisenkomplexität

Komplex bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang:

  • Vernetztheit: alles hängt aneinander, und das auch noch auf verschiedene Art und Weise. Das bedeutet, daß Eingriffe in vernetzte Systeme nicht nur auf Variablen wirken, die man beeinflussen will, sondern auch auf andere. Man spricht von Neben-, Rück- und Fernwirkung bei der Realisierung von Maßnahmen.
  • Eigendynamik: Das System verändert seinen Zustand auch ohne Einwirkung von außen (Polymerisation). Man kann also nicht beliebig lange abwarten und in Ruhe nachdenken. Es ist wichtig, nicht nur den momentanen Zustand zu kennen, sondern man muß auch die Entwicklungstendenzen erfassen und berücksichtigen.
  • Intransparenz (Undurchschaubarkeit): Die Zustände eines Systems sind nicht vollständig zu erfassen, man muß auf Indikatoren zurückgreifen. Besonders problematisch ist dies, wenn die kritischen Variablen, die das System entscheiden, nicht erkennbar sind.
  • Totzeiten, Zeitverzögerung: Die Wirkung der Maßnahmen lassen sich erst lange nach dem Eingriff erkennen, und oft weiß man nicht, wie lange danach. Puffervariablen täuschen zum Teil einen stabilen Zustand vor, der bei ihrem Zusammenfall plötzlich eskaliert.
  • Irreversibilität: Die Wirkung einer Maßnahme ist unumkehrbar.

zurück